new

In God’s economy, often what is new starts out hidden: a seed in the ground, a child in the womb, a change in the heart. Some of His greatest gifts to us seem to arrive in an almost offhand manner, slipping into our lives without fanfare.

As humans, we’re often taken with the boldly, lavishly novel items: a new hair color, a new diet, a new car, a raise, a promotion, a change in relationship status. We’re inundated with products that are New! and Improved! as if the two were always synonymous. Of course many new things truly are gifts straight from God, but isn’t it easy to miss the quieter things He’s up to?

As I begin this new year with a new job and a new location (and yes, a website that’s just a little new and improved), I find myself most impressed with the small and quiet things God is doing in my heart.  I’ve got some new prayers bubbling up in there. And a small thought that slipped in offhand, and stayed there, growing.

If there’s anything new I long for, it’s a change in my heart and habits. If there’s anything that humbles me, it’s the daily struggle to redeem the time I so often waste. But a simple analogy, God-given, is slowly changing my perspective — and, I trust, my heart.

Imagine a jar, and a pile of rocks, all sizes, which somehow must fit inside. This is my life, and the things that are clamoring for my attention. It’s easy to begin by chucking the little ones in haphazardly, one by one. There’s not a lot of risk involved that way, and not a lot of effort, either. But if I get halfway through, who’s to say there will be enough room left for the rest?

I’ve got to add the big rocks first.

Plans and resolutions are good, but they can’t address all the temptations, detours, and curve balls life keeps throwing into the mix. They don’t always tell me what’s big and what’s small in the eyes of God. And trust me, they’re not enough to change my heart.

When Jesus was here on earth, He was surrounded by needs: real human beings with heartaches and pains, literally tugging at His sleeve. I don’t think a conventional company policy or set schedule would have covered the vagaries of life as a traveling teacher in the ancient Middle East.  (It’s unpredictable enough today!)

But Jesus had it figured out, just the same: “The Son can do nothing of His own accord, but only what He sees the Father doing.”

A simple pause. A quiet prayer. An exchange of agendas. A heart of obedience.  “Lord, what are You up to?”

Who carries on that conversation without background noise? Not me! I’ve got a million thoughts, and they’re all clamoring to be heard: “Lord, I’m too tired! I’m hungry! I’m uninspired. And Lord, what about my finances? What about my family? What about my dreams?”   Just like me, Jesus had human needs and desires. He knows how urgent they are, and how painful they can feel.

He knows it all, and He cares.

“Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness,” He says, “and all these things will be added to you.”

Chase Me. And don’t worry. My lovingkindness and mercy will chase you.

Just add the big rocks first.


And He who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.”

But Jesus had it figured out.

2 responses to “new”

  1. Wise words, Elisabeth. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts on YLCF, especially your posts about life in Israel. Someday, Lord willing, I will go see the places of the Bible too.

    Keep serving Him.

Leave a comment